Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Topic Options
#144707 - 20/02/2003 09:20 Unable to sync
errol
journeyman

Registered: 08/08/2002
Posts: 57
Now that we have something new to play with (emphatic) I am finally uploading some new tunes to my player after having gone a very long time without doing so. Unfortunately, I am getting an error.

If I watch the tasks in emplode, I can see that "Connecting to player" and "Uploading database" complete successfully, but "Checking media" gives an error 0xc0041010. I also notice that the player restarts while "Checking media". Is this normal?

At first I thought I needed to do an fsck, so I manually did so on both of my drives, but I am still getting this error.

Any ideas what could be wrong? Drive cable?

Top
#144708 - 20/02/2003 10:30 Re: Unable to sync [Re: errol]
genixia
Carpal Tunnel

Registered: 08/02/2002
Posts: 3411
Before starting the sync, select 'Quit' in emphatics menu. Note that simply selecting 'Off' won't help. The problem that you are seeing is because emphatic is running from the music partition and preventing the music partition from be unmounted.

There is a lively discussion going on about this very issue in the emphatic thread in 'Programming'.
_________________________
Mk2a 60GB Blue. Serial 030102962 sig.mp3: File Format not Valid.

Top
#144709 - 20/02/2003 10:51 Re: Unable to sync [Re: genixia]
errol
journeyman

Registered: 08/08/2002
Posts: 57
Well, that didn't seem to help. I get the exact same results as I had previously.

Top
#144710 - 20/02/2003 11:01 Re: Unable to sync [Re: errol]
Daria
carpal tunnel

Registered: 24/01/2002
Posts: 3932
Loc: Providence, RI
Do you have any other programs installed that are running out of the music partitions?

Top
#144711 - 20/02/2003 11:28 Re: Unable to sync [Re: Daria]
JBjorgen
carpal tunnel

Registered: 19/01/2002
Posts: 3520
Loc: Columbus, OH
Genixia is right, you must quit emphatic every time the player boots while you are synching. I had that exact same problem with the exact same error message.
_________________________
~ John

Top
#144712 - 20/02/2003 13:22 Re: Unable to sync [Re: JBjorgen]
errol
journeyman

Registered: 08/08/2002
Posts: 57
OK, I had a few programs running off the music partition, so I "kill"ed them and I am now able to sync.

Thanks to all for the help.

Top