Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#15242 - 24/08/2000 01:02 Problems Encoding MP3s
bateman
new poster

Apologies in advance if this is not posted in the correct area - please don't flame me!

I am new to MP3 and I'm running NT4/SP3 on an (aging c1996/7) intel box:
Matsushita ATAPI CD-ROM
Creative Pro 16 (bit) soundcard
Have got Xing's AC - full version

Tried to encode some MP3s from CD-ROM drive:
It seems MSCDEX is not an option under NT4
ASPI - is greyed out, but I don't know if this is a possible option, either with an updated atapi.sys or with wnaspi32.dll installed, also do I need a special cable from CD-ROM to sound card?

Left with the analog option only, on playback via my hi-fi system, tracks sound distorted (usually when hitting peaks) I have tried with & without normalisation (via .wav) but still distorts.
I've used VBR at normal/high and CBR at highest - same problems.
Is there a fundamental problem, i.e. I need to go and buy new soundcard/CD-ROM? Or can I correct problem via driver/software upgrade?

Also, can anyone suggest a good .wav recording program for pulling audio from vinyl?

#15243 - 24/08/2000 01:22 Re: Problems Encoding MP3s [Re: bateman]
mcgrant
journeyman

Loc: Menlo Park, CA USA
I recommend you check out r3mix.net to learn all about how to set your system up for digital audio extraction. It'll have everything you need to know. For example, it will tell you how to get an ASPI layer for your CD-ROM.

Beware, though, there's a chance that your CD-ROM will be lousy at digital audio extraction! If so, my personal opinion is that you should swallow hard and go ahead and invest the $$ in a player that will do the job right. Plextor is a highly regarded brand name for audio extraction.