Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#223414 - 01/08/2003 16:00 Dell Rebranded Receiver stopped connecting
MercX
stranger

Hey guys, its my first time here but I figure this is the best place to post this.

I have a Dell rebranded receiver that used to work on my network just fine and then one day just stopped. I noticed that sometimes the link light doesn't light but on most occasions it does.

I don't understand the issue here at all. I called Tech support which was awful as all hell. Now my link light works just fine, but the machine never connects to the server. I don't see any info being transmitted when I watch the status lights on the hub, and when the machine finally comes back with the IP info it apparently does receive an address and what not from the DHCP server on my router.

Please help me figure this out because I can't. This is driving me nuts because it used to work and I can't figure out why it just stopped.

#223415 - 01/08/2003 22:50 Re: Dell Rebranded Receiver stopped connecting [Re: MercX]
mmhere123456

Just more questions I guess, but they may help to clarify your situation...

Are you using 10/100 ethernet connectivity, or phoneline/HPNA?

Is there more than one DHCP provider on your network? I.e., are you running A.R.M. windoze server program and do you also have a firewall/NAT device that also does DHCP? Are any of your other [Linux/Windows] boxes configured to be DHCP servers?

Is it possible your wiring got chopped somehow? If you're using phone line, you might stick another phone/handset on there to verify connectivity. Otherwise, you might put another computer on the line if you're using Ethernet at the Rio site. Of course, the fact that your Rio presents a link-level light probly renders this question moot.