Hello all. As a hardly fledged Newbie, I thought it worth sharing a few trials and tribulations I underwent having imported some Receivers from the US in the hope it might help some others in tracking down problems. I intended to ask questions of this forum along the way, but was unable to obtain a Username through the usual sources. However, with my ineptness resolved (I didn’t check the “I agree” box in the Terms of Use section) here we go.
I bought the first 6 Rios on eBay for about $80 and had them shipped for about $150. Taxes due when importing to the UK from the US are:
~5% (duty) of the total paid INCLUDING shipping. i.e. 0.05 * $630
and 17.5% (VAT) of the total paid INCLUDING shipping i.e. 0.175 * $630

Total $771.75, or $128.63 each (~£80).

Yes, I know they are about $50 on eBay now….so I bought another 6.

These units are a total steal at these prices. I cannot believe that the general public take up has not been higher.

If anyone wants more info on the mechanics of importing, let me know)

Firstly, I had them running on HPNA. I confess that I live in a Spanish Armada era house, so the wiring does leave a fair amount to be desired, but I could not get it working satisfactorily. My dial-up internet connection (no broadband in my rural exchange yet) ran slow, and I had repeated problems with the Rios connecting. I got the green link light OK, but despite the occasional orange activity flicker, they would sporadically refuse to connect.

So I dumped the HPNA and resolved to drape CAT5 around. Wife not impressed, but dial-up speed back to normal 45kbs snail’s pace. My initial install did not go well. I suspect that this had something to do with the fact that I tested the setup by trying to connect the Rio. Had I used my laptop I would probably have discovered that I had got a faulty patch cable and a faulty hub before 4am. That is when I found out that I had a faulty Rio as well.