Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#288350 - 18/10/2006 18:06 Linux RAID HD Failure - HELP!
Cris
pooh-bah

Loc: Leeds, UK
I have been running ClarkConnect for some time now. Over the past couple of days I have been getting various internet related problems. After bypassing the firewall for a few hours today I decided there was something up with the ClarkConnect Box, as it hasn't had a restart since April(ish) I thought that would be a good idea.

But, to my horror it never came back up. I went into the BIOS and disabled the master HD and it booted off the other drive perfectly. Also the issues I have been seeing seem to have gone.

Being a total Linux newbie I have no idea what to do. What do I do? Just drop in a new drive? How do I check there is a problem, I couldn't really see anything in the boot sequence but then I don't really know what I am looking for, is this logged somewhere?

I also think now would be a good time to back up my picture Gallery (Gallery 2) but I am left feeling a little lost with that task also.

Any pointers would be great. Man am I glad I did the RAID thing!

Cheers

Cris.

#288351 - 18/10/2006 18:24 Re: Linux RAID HD Failure - HELP! [Re: Cris]
andym
carpal tunnel

Loc: Manchester UK
Not to sure about anything specific to ClarkConnect. As for gallery2, i'd simply copy the gallery2 folder to somewhere safe and the do a dump of the SQL database to a file. That appears to be a common method for backing up. As you can just restore them back and everything should be intact.

I would've thought there should be some RAID tools (probably CLI ones) available on the shell prompt.

Maybe I could have a look at it for you?

Andy M

#288352 - 18/10/2006 18:51 Re: Linux RAID HD Failure - HELP! [Re: andym]
Cris
pooh-bah

Ok, the gallery is backed up, I think! Database, gallery dir and album dir all safe