Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#298959 - 04/06/2007 19:08 d-slr advice (novice)
lastdan
enthusiast

Loc: santa cruz,ca
I'm beginning to desire an entry level / used d-slr camera, and I hope someone can point me to a model to consider.
I'm a novice photographer, at best. no, I'm not even a novice photographer, I'm one of the people that they make point-and-shoot cameras for.
my budget is ~500 $us, so maybe I should just wait, but maybe not?
can anyone recommend a decent camera to cut my teeth on?
I'm guessing I'm better off with a used solid unit, rather than a new cheap one. but again, I really don't know all that much (read : nothing) about them.

I read an older post about a 30d deal, and all that I could gather is that there are people here that have a good deal of experience.

#298960 - 04/06/2007 19:50 Re: d-slr advice (novice) [Re: lastdan]
mlord
carpal tunnel

Loc: Canada
Quote:
I'm beginning to desire an entry level / used d-slr camera, and I hope someone can point me to a model to consider.

I highly recommend a Pentax camera, such as the K10D kit from B&H.

Or perhaps the Nikon D40 kit from B&H, which is more in your stated price range.

The Canon entry/mid level cameras are not as nice, except when it comes to very low-light conditions (eg. hockey arena).

Cheers

#298961 - 04/06/2007 21:25 Re: d-slr advice (novice) [Re: mlord]
DWallach
carpal tunnel

With any D-SLR, there's a modest concern of which system you're slowly but surely locking yourself into. If you buy Nikon or Canon, you've got an impressive after-market of used equipment. If you buy anything else, things get a little rougher.