Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#313700 - 07/09/2008 20:03 Tuner Issues: Installer cut wires
bootsy
enthusiast

Loc: Seattle, WA. USA
Hi guys... I was hoping someone here could give me confirmation on getting my tuner to work in car with my empeg.

I had my Mk2 installed in my 2006 WRX a few years back. It's worked more or less fine, other than my issue documented here Dim or Turn Off Standby LED?.

From the looks of it, the Blue Amp remote wire is plugged into power. I am not an electrician (and now possibly my installer wasn't either), but it appears they have made minced meat of my sled wiring. The Blue Amp Remote wire and Black Ground have been cut from the tuner plug and wired directly into the vehicle.

I'd like to use my tuner to interface with a Sony Stalk Remote. Can I just splice the blue and black wires back onto the tuner plug and have this work?

Second question... looking at this mess, can anyone see what else is wrong and maybe point me to a solution?

Thanks very much... image to follow

Attachments
tuner_wires.jpg

Description: spaghetti

#313713 - 08/09/2008 02:46 Re: Tuner Issues: Installer cut wires [Re: bootsy]
sein
old hand

Loc: Sector ZZ9pZa
If those cut wires were originally from the Tuner Plug, then yes you need to hook them up there to make things work. Check out the Tuner Plug wiring diagram here:

Diagram:

Key:

The blue wire on the right, if that is coming from your Empeg Sled then yes, thats not connected up right. That wire is supposed to be 'Amp Remote' which goes +12V when the Empeg powers up so your amplifier knows to turn on.

The yellow wire from the car harness is probably 'Memory' which is the permanent +12V that the Empeg should be powered by. If you have a VW or derivative Memory and Ignition Sense may be swapped over.