Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#358691 - 21/05/2013 10:05 Color Matching Parenthesis Sets in Word?
Tim
veteran

Loc: Arizona
Ok, my google-fu is especially weak this morning.

I've had other editors that color matched sets of parenthesis to keep track of what set you were in (vim, eclipse, etc). Does anybody know how to set up a macro, addin, or anything to get this functionality in Word?

The basis for this question is a long, complicated, and sordid story about using the incorrect tool for the job, but I'm stuck with what we have.

Thanks for any help!

#358718 - 21/05/2013 22:21 Re: Color Matching Parenthesis Sets in Word? [Re: Tim]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Loc: Seattle, WA

I have extensive experience writing macros in Word's VBA language, and I'm convinced that you could write something which matched parenthesis sets and then color coded them, based on some behavioral parameters you'd have to code in there. (Such as: are indentations/spacing important or ignored? Do you want it to be just parens, or all types of brace-like characters? Do you want it to ignore comments? If so, what computer language is it, so that you can also put in comment ignoring and comment color-coding. Do you want it to ignore braces found inside string literals? If so, what are your string literal delimiters in your language, and if you're doing that well then you might as well color-code your string literals... it goes on and on.).

As you can see, though I know it's do-able, it would be a complex task as you'd essentially be writing a code language parser, and as such it would need to be language-specific. Word's VBA macro language would be up to the task I think.

If, however, Google isn't finding anyone who's already done it, then you might be the first person to need to do it in Word. In that case, have fun, you're on your own, there's no WAY I'm tackling this one for you. :-)