Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#370539 - 16/02/2018 14:55 iPhone Camera
Dignan
carpal tunnel

Loc: Sterling, VA
I'm new to the iPhone, and I'm liking it so far. But there's something with the camera that's been bothering me.

Take a look at the attached photos I took of my son. The first one looks fine, but the second is zoomed in and shows the issue I'm talking about. Why does it look like there's an Instagram filter? It looks like someone applied a bad filter to make it look like brush strokes or something. Is this normal? I see it in every photo that I take, from challenging lighting and movement (both here), to the ones I've taken in the new light box I just got.

Is this intentional? Is there anything I can do about it?

Attachments
Untitled.png (61 downloads)
Untitled2.png (67 downloads)

#370540 - 16/02/2018 15:51 Re: iPhone Camera [Re: Dignan]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Loc: Seattle, WA
The zoomed image looks normal to me (for small-sensor digital cameras that is).

In fact I would say that pic looks better than most. I’m used to seeing a lot more artifacts at that zoom level in digital camera images.

I think most digital cameras do significant amounts of post processing on the images to hide artifacts caused by the image sensors. At high zoom levels you really start to see it. But it’s better than no post processing at all. It’d be worse without it.

Do you have any apps that let you shoot raw? I don’t recall if Apple allows that. If you did you could download the raw file and look at the difference.

#370541 - 16/02/2018 16:05 Re: iPhone Camera [Re: Dignan]
Dignan
carpal tunnel

It could just be a case of "it's different so I don't like it." laugh

I just didn't see this kind of processing in my photos before the iPhone.