Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Page 3 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#307943 - 05/03/2008 22:03 Re: .png or .gif for image map? [Re: mlord]
ghostwheel
new poster

Registered: 18/07/2001
Posts: 37
Loc: Koblenz, Germany
Hi,

Originally Posted By: mlord
EDIT: Ah.. from earlier in this thread, it sounds like there should be no issues using just rioremote.gif everywhere.

Right?


Yes, but ... see below.

I've completed version 0.8 featuring

- a movable remote (including button descriptions)
- color and refresh popups
- some more bugfixes for silly browsers

I've edited the rioremote.png and .gif - I'd like to keep the png because it has a nice (alpha transparency) border now.

Alex


Attachments
empeg_weblite.zip (424 downloads)


Top
#307944 - 05/03/2008 22:46 Re: .png or .gif for image map? [Re: ghostwheel]
mlord
carpal tunnel

Registered: 29/08/2000
Posts: 13879
Loc: Canada
Originally Posted By: ghostwheel
Hi,

Originally Posted By: mlord
EDIT: Ah.. from earlier in this thread, it sounds like there should be no issues using just rioremote.gif everywhere.

Right?


Yes, but ... see below.

I've completed version 0.8 featuring

- a movable remote (including button descriptions)
- color and refresh popups
- some more bugfixes for silly browsers

I've edited the rioremote.png and .gif - I'd like to keep the png because it has a nice (alpha transparency) border now.

Alex


Sounds good.

But it doesn't work here (Firefox 2 on Linux):





Attachments
junk.jpg



Top
#307945 - 05/03/2008 22:52 Re: .png or .gif for image map? [Re: mlord]
mlord
carpal tunnel

Registered: 29/08/2000
Posts: 13879
Loc: Canada
Quote:
But it doesn't work here (Firefox 2 on Linux):


Oh.. your .zip file is missing these:

weblite/weblite.js
weblite/domresize.js
weblite/weblite.css


???

Top
#307976 - 06/03/2008 15:46 Re: .png or .gif for image map? [Re: mlord]
ghostwheel
new poster

Registered: 18/07/2001
Posts: 37
Loc: Koblenz, Germany
Hi,

Originally Posted By: mlord
Oh.. your .zip file is missing these


whoops, fixed. sorry.
a new zip file is attached.

Alex


Attachments
empeg_weblite.zip (290 downloads)


Top
#307981 - 06/03/2008 17:42 Re: .png or .gif for image map? [Re: ghostwheel]
mlord
carpal tunnel

Registered: 29/08/2000
Posts: 13879
Loc: Canada
Originally Posted By: ghostwheel
I've completed version 0.8 featuring

- a movable remote (including button descriptions)
- color and refresh popups
- some more bugfixes for silly browsers

I've edited the rioremote.png and .gif - I'd like to keep the png because it has a nice (alpha transparency) border now.
..
a new zip file is attached.

Alex


Holy crap, this is totally awesome!
Folks, you gotta see this to believe it!

Thanks!

Top
#307984 - 06/03/2008 18:10 Re: .png or .gif for image map? [Re: mlord]
mlord
carpal tunnel

Registered: 29/08/2000
Posts: 13879
Loc: Canada
Here is an updated replacement default.xsl file (version 0.80a).

This has more accurate button mapping for the new RioRemote image.

Cheers


Attachments
default.xsl (802 downloads)
Description: Drop-in replacement default.xsl file for the one from version 0.80.



Top
#308004 - 06/03/2008 22:35 Re: .png or .gif for image map? [Re: mlord]
ghostwheel
new poster

Registered: 18/07/2001
Posts: 37
Loc: Koblenz, Germany
Originally Posted By: mlord
This has more accurate button mapping for the new RioRemote image.

Wow, I was 1 pixel off at some places. wink

I've just finished a new version which can parse some variables passed in the URL - now you can save a bookmark with your favorite settings.

There are three parameters:
Code:
remote=[0|1]            example:  remote=1   (show remote)
color={name}            example:  color=red  (load fascia_red.png)
refresh={milliseconds}  example:  refresh=0  (disable refresh)

I haven't tested it on my empeg (it is in my car, I know I shouldn't leave it there) and hope the parameters don't interfere with the other parameters FID and EXT.

An example URL would be:

http://www.ghostwheel.de/empeg/?FID=91e1&color=green&remote=1&refresh=0&EXT=.xml

Alex


Attachments
empeg_weblite.zip (408 downloads)



Edited by ghostwheel (06/03/2008 22:45)
Edit Reason: fixed example URL

Top
#308009 - 07/03/2008 01:45 Re: .png or .gif for image map? [Re: mlord]
gbeer
carpal tunnel

Registered: 17/12/2000
Posts: 2659
Loc: Manteca, California
I can't tell from the pic.

Is that the remote with the coveted Stun/Kill option... smirk
_________________________
Glenn

Top
#308072 - 10/03/2008 19:40 Empeg Weblite 0.93 [Re: ghostwheel]
ghostwheel
new poster

Registered: 18/07/2001
Posts: 37
Loc: Koblenz, Germany
Hi,

the last version didn't work on the empeg because of the query string variables. I've fixed this - the variables are now passed as anchor ("#"):
Code:
remote=[0|1]            example:  remote=1   (show remote)
color={name}            example:  color=red  (load fascia_red.png)
refresh={milliseconds}  example:  refresh=0  (disable refresh)
sort={column}           example:  order=artist (set sort column)
order={asc|desc}        example:  order=asc    (set sort order)

An example URL would be http://www.ghostwheel.de/empeg/?FID=91e1...title#order=asc
Version 0.93 also has a new fascia "rainbow" and a bookmark button to save a favorite of the current view.

Alex


Attachments
empeg_weblite.zip (379 downloads)


Top
#308146 - 13/03/2008 15:40 Re: Empeg Weblite 0.93 [Re: ghostwheel]
Robotic
pooh-bah

Registered: 06/04/2005
Posts: 2026
Loc: Seattle transplant
This is such cool stuff!
I really like the remote and the new drop-down menus.

I tried bookmarking (right click, 'bookmark this link' from FireFox) the site with my settings (litblue, remote on, 0.5sec), but although the custom parameters can be seen in the url, the page is not customized when called from the bookmark.

I also noticed that when trying to access a playlist that includes several hundred songs, the playlist area would darken and not update. It seemed to want me to wait, but after a couple minutes I gave up on it and reloaded the page.
I tried this a few times with various refresh rates, with no success. Should I just have more patience?
_________________________
10101311 (20GB- backup empeg)
10101466 (2x60GB, Eutronix/GreenLights Blue) (Stolen!)

Top
#308155 - 13/03/2008 18:59 Re: Empeg Weblite 0.93 [Re: Robotic]
mlord
carpal tunnel

Registered: 29/08/2000
Posts: 13879
Loc: Canada
Originally Posted By: Robotic
I also noticed that when trying to access a playlist that includes several hundred songs, the playlist area would darken and not update. It seemed to want me to wait, but after a couple minutes I gave up on it and reloaded the page.
I tried this a few times with various refresh rates, with no success. Should I just have more patience?


Hit PAUSE on the player, and see if that helps.
  • If YES, then you just needed to wait longer.
  • if NO, then something else is wrong.

Cheers

Top
#308195 - 14/03/2008 13:24 Re: Empeg Weblite 0.93 [Re: Robotic]
ghostwheel
new poster

Registered: 18/07/2001
Posts: 37
Loc: Koblenz, Germany
Originally Posted By: Robotic
I tried bookmarking (right click, 'bookmark this link' from FireFox) the site with my settings (litblue, remote on, 0.5sec), but although the custom parameters can be seen in the url, the page is not customized when called from the bookmark.

Did you clear your browser cache? Try: Shift+Reload.

A bookmark should look like this:
http://emepg/?FID=91e1&EXT=.xml#color=rainbow#remote=1#refresh=0#sort=title#order=asc

Alex

Top
#308235 - 15/03/2008 01:09 Re: Empeg Weblite 0.93 [Re: ghostwheel]
Robotic
pooh-bah

Registered: 06/04/2005
Posts: 2026
Loc: Seattle transplant
Hi Alex-

The url looks like this for both 'Blue' and 'Lit Blue' selections:
http://192.168.1.5/?FID=101&EXT=.xml#refresh=500#color=blue#remote=1

Every other selection has a different color specification.
So, in my case, the 'Blue' graphic was being displayed instead of the 'Lit Blue' graphic.

Thanks!
_________________________
10101311 (20GB- backup empeg)
10101466 (2x60GB, Eutronix/GreenLights Blue) (Stolen!)

Top
#308236 - 15/03/2008 01:21 Re: Empeg Weblite 0.93 [Re: mlord]
Robotic
pooh-bah

Registered: 06/04/2005
Posts: 2026
Loc: Seattle transplant
Originally Posted By: mlord
Hit PAUSE on the player, and see if that helps.
  • If YES, then you just needed to wait longer.
  • if NO, then something else is wrong.

Cheers

Hi Mark!

I tried surfing the playlists with various conditions- slow/fast refresh, and player off, paused, and playing.

Access to 'normal' playlists is only slightly slower with slow refresh or player playing. That one big playlist I've got still causes a deathly long pause to the playlist area no matter what setting or condition the player is in. It just won't come up.
Can you think of anything else I could try that might give other clues?
Thanks!
_________________________
10101311 (20GB- backup empeg)
10101466 (2x60GB, Eutronix/GreenLights Blue) (Stolen!)

Top
#308239 - 15/03/2008 02:02 Re: Empeg Weblite 0.93 [Re: Robotic]
Attack
addict

Registered: 01/03/2002
Posts: 577
Loc: Florida
Is the CPU usage high while waiting for this to load? If the CPU usage is high try creating a a few playlists that double in size. Do these new playlists take more the twice as long to finish loading?

Top
#308253 - 15/03/2008 15:26 Re: Empeg Weblite 0.93 [Re: Attack]
Robotic
pooh-bah

Registered: 06/04/2005
Posts: 2026
Loc: Seattle transplant
Originally Posted By: Attack
Is the CPU usage high while waiting for this to load? If the CPU usage is high try creating a a few playlists that double in size. Do these new playlists take more the twice as long to finish loading?

It doesn't seem to affect the CPU usage- it bounces around 5%.
I'm assuming you want to know Windows CPU, but perhaps that assumption is wrong. How would I watch the empeg's CPU load?

I'm out of time just now, but I'll try some of this again later.
Thanks!
_________________________
10101311 (20GB- backup empeg)
10101466 (2x60GB, Eutronix/GreenLights Blue) (Stolen!)

Top
#308255 - 15/03/2008 16:20 Re: Empeg Weblite 0.93 [Re: Robotic]
Attack
addict

Registered: 01/03/2002
Posts: 577
Loc: Florida
Originally Posted By: Robotic
It doesn't seem to affect the CPU usage- it bounces around 5%.
I'm assuming you want to know Windows CPU, but perhaps that assumption is wrong. How would I watch the empeg's CPU load?

I'm out of time just now, but I'll try some of this again later.
Thanks!


Sorry, I should have said windows CPU usage.

Top
#308334 - 17/03/2008 19:29 Re: Empeg Weblite 0.94 [Re: Robotic]
ghostwheel
new poster

Registered: 18/07/2001
Posts: 37
Loc: Koblenz, Germany
Hi,
Originally Posted By: Robotic
Every other selection has a different color specification.
So, in my case, the 'Blue' graphic was being displayed instead of the 'Lit Blue' graphic.

I've fixed this in the attached version 0.94.

Alex


Attachments
empeg_weblite.zip (406 downloads)


Top
#308335 - 17/03/2008 19:37 Re: Empeg Weblite 0.93 [Re: Robotic]
ghostwheel
new poster

Registered: 18/07/2001
Posts: 37
Loc: Koblenz, Germany
Hi,

Originally Posted By: Robotic
That one big playlist I've got still causes a deathly long pause to the playlist area no matter what setting or condition the player is in. It just won't come up.
Can you think of anything else I could try that might give other clues?

How many entries does your big playlist have?
Did you use fidsift on your player?
What happens if you middle-click the playlist link (ie open link in new window)? If the page shows up please save the page source and pm it to me.

After clicking a playlist link I can hear the harddrive seeking on my player. The new page shows up the moment the harddrive noise stops.

Alex

Top
#308382 - 19/03/2008 02:44 Re: Empeg Weblite 0.93 [Re: ghostwheel]
Robotic
pooh-bah

Registered: 06/04/2005
Posts: 2026
Loc: Seattle transplant
Originally Posted By: ghostwheel
Hi,

How many entries does your big playlist have?
Emplode says 1238 items listed, of which 11 are further directories. Weblite says 1238 also.
Originally Posted By: ghostwheel
Did you use fidsift on your player?
Yes.
Originally Posted By: ghostwheel
What happens if you middle-click the playlist link (ie open link in new window)? If the page shows up please save the page source and pm it to me.

After clicking a playlist link I can hear the harddrive seeking on my player. The new page shows up the moment the harddrive noise stops.

Alex

The resulting page says:
Quote:
XML Parsing Error: not well-formed
Location: http://192.168.1.5/?FID=1641&EXT=.xml
Line Number 2231, Column 13: <tracknr></tracknr>
---------------------------------^

The source is zipped and attached to this post.
I can open in new windows other playlists with no problem.
Drive access noises are brief for this problem playlist.

Thanks for the updates, Alex!


Attachments
192.168.1.5.zip (416 downloads)

_________________________
10101311 (20GB- backup empeg)
10101466 (2x60GB, Eutronix/GreenLights Blue) (Stolen!)

Top
#308388 - 19/03/2008 10:52 Re: Empeg Weblite 0.93 [Re: Robotic]
ghostwheel
new poster

Registered: 18/07/2001
Posts: 37
Loc: Koblenz, Germany
Originally Posted By: Robotic
The resulting page says:
Quote:
XML Parsing Error: not well-formed
Location: http://192.168.1.5/?FID=1641&EXT=.xml
Line Number 2231, Column 13: <tracknr></tracknr>
---------------------------------^

Your problem are some tracks with malformed meta-data.
On line 2231 it is "Skater Boy" for example. You should fix the metadata using emplode.
You could also delete the songs and re-upload them after editing the id3 tags.

The "problem" could be fixed while generating the xml files in hijack, but I doubt this is the right place - I don't even know if an id3-track field allows "0x02" as track-number. If it is a valid track-number, hijack could translate all single-byte values less than 0x20 to their ascii representation.

Alex

Top
#308390 - 19/03/2008 13:11 Re: Empeg Weblite 0.93 [Re: ghostwheel]
Robotic
pooh-bah

Registered: 06/04/2005
Posts: 2026
Loc: Seattle transplant
Aha! Thanks for the diagnosis and explanation, Alex. I will fix my tags and post again later.
_________________________
10101311 (20GB- backup empeg)
10101466 (2x60GB, Eutronix/GreenLights Blue) (Stolen!)

Top
#309581 - 28/04/2008 20:09 Empeg Weblite 0.95 [Re: ghostwheel]
ghostwheel
new poster

Registered: 18/07/2001
Posts: 37
Loc: Koblenz, Germany
Version 0.95 is a bugfix release:
  • fixed some safari javascript problems
  • detect bad playlists and show warning (Robotic's problem)
  • show ajax wait indicator while loading
  • some cosmetic fixes (ie highlight current line)

Alex


Attachments
empeg_weblite.zip (459 downloads)


Top
#309596 - 29/04/2008 08:59 Re: Empeg Weblite 0.95 [Re: ghostwheel]
sein
old hand

Registered: 07/01/2005
Posts: 889
Loc: Sector ZZ9pZa
Great work guys smile
_________________________
Hussein

Top
#317750 - 04/01/2009 21:56 Re: Empeg Weblite 0.95 [Re: sein]
benjammin
member

Registered: 11/08/2002
Posts: 185
Loc: Champaign, IL
All the fun stuff I miss.

Shame on me.


I can't wait to get this installed.

-Ben
_________________________
Empeg Mk2 in fabulous green! Green Face, Green BackLit Buttons... GREEN...

Top
#317760 - 05/01/2009 02:08 Re: Empeg Weblite 0.95 [Re: benjammin]
mlord
carpal tunnel

Registered: 29/08/2000
Posts: 13879
Loc: Canada
Yeah, this one is the real deal!

I use it just about every single day here.

Top
#317941 - 09/01/2009 05:16 Re: Empeg Weblite 0.95 [Re: mlord]
benjammin
member

Registered: 11/08/2002
Posts: 185
Loc: Champaign, IL
I have a dumb question: (I supposed if someone could include a short readme.txt with the zip archive -- maybe this wouldn't be a question)


When I boot the player, I don't want to look at the dir index. I want to go straight to the fabulous httpd menu. Is there some way to do this? (besides saving a bookmark)

edit: I tried the khttp_dirs=0 option. No dice.

Thanks,

-Ben


Edited by benjammin (09/01/2009 05:25)
_________________________
Empeg Mk2 in fabulous green! Green Face, Green BackLit Buttons... GREEN...

Top
#317963 - 09/01/2009 15:19 Re: Empeg Weblite 0.95 [Re: benjammin]
mlord
carpal tunnel

Registered: 29/08/2000
Posts: 13879
Loc: Canada
Quote:
I don't want to look at the dir index. I want to go straight to the fabulous httpd menu. Is there some way to do this? (besides saving a bookmark)

Create a file named /index.html on the empeg, with these contents:
Code:
<html><head>
<meta HTTP-EQUIV="REFRESH" content="0; url=/?FID=101&EXT=.xml">
</head></html>

(EDIT: simplified it)
(EDIT again: hacked in some extra UBBcode tags to try and prevent FF3 from trying to interpret the HTML tags in the above post [WTF?]).


Edited by mlord (09/01/2009 17:38)

Top
#317968 - 09/01/2009 15:57 Re: Empeg Weblite 0.95 [Re: mlord]
benjammin
member

Registered: 11/08/2002
Posts: 185
Loc: Champaign, IL
Ko. thanks!

-Ben
_________________________
Empeg Mk2 in fabulous green! Green Face, Green BackLit Buttons... GREEN...

Top
#370966 - 17/05/2018 20:54 Re: Empeg Weblite 0.95 [Re: ghostwheel]
suomi35
enthusiast

Registered: 16/02/2002
Posts: 277
Loc: Denver, CO
I recently became the owner of more than one empeg whistle
As such, and even though I have them setup in my local DNS with different names, I decided to add the player name to the UI of weblite, in order to see which player I'm dealing with at-a-glance.

The player name is displayed on the top left corner of the fascia:


I modified the weblite code ever so slightly and here it is for everyone...I also incremented the version to 0.96. Apologies for any future versioning clash that might cause smirk



Cheers!


Attachments
Screen Shot 2018-05-17 at 2.47.35 PM.png (115 downloads)
weblite_0.96.zip (7 downloads)



Edited by suomi35 (18/05/2018 16:49)
_________________________
-Jason

Top
Page 3 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >