Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Topic Options
#38104 - 05/09/2001 15:49 Information Cycle
srhodes
enthusiast

Registered: 30/01/2000
Posts: 262
Loc: Derbyshire, UK
A feature/visual that I've been thinking about for a while is to have a scrolling list of source or artist or track (selectable) going up the display. The middle could be set to a larger font to make it look like it was on a drum rolling around. This would be cool for passengers to see what is on the empeg. Then, when something interesting comes up, a button (volume knob) could select the currently highlighted option. It would be useful if speed could be set as well.

Apologies if something like this has been mentioned before or if it is already coming in 2.0 - I couldn't find any reference.

___________________________

Steve - 18GB Mk II Sssmokey
_________________________
Steve

2x80GB Mk II with Illuminated buttons

Top
#38105 - 10/09/2001 03:13 Re: Information Cycle [Re: srhodes]
Taym
pooh-bah

Registered: 18/06/2001
Posts: 2426
Loc: Roma, Italy
Amazing, I was just thinking of something similar.

In the visualization mode where you have the graphics and the scrolling text at the bottom of the screen, rather than having the text scrolling from right to left, I'd like to have text scrolling from bottom to top, but not cross the whole screen, just in the area that is now used for the left/right scroll. It's just a line, so the text should scroll up, show the artist, wait few seconds, scroll up again ad disappear. After few seconds, the song name would sroll up, and disappear, and so on.
I think it would be nice and not take space from the graphics permanently.


Taym
_________________________
MK II BLUE/RED 12GB #923
_________________________
= Taym =
MK2a #040103216 * 100Gb *All/Colors* Radio * 3.0a11 * Hijack = taympeg

Top
#38106 - 10/09/2001 08:35 Re: Information Cycle [Re: Taym]
alear
enthusiast

Registered: 05/07/2000
Posts: 301
Loc: Montana, USA, Bozeman
I like that idea too Taym. For longer titles/names it would need to scroll up - scroll left/right - then scroll up/disappear to show the longer names.

Alex Lear
_________________________
Alex Lear

Top
#38107 - 13/09/2001 06:31 Re: Information Cycle [Re: alear]
Taym
pooh-bah

Registered: 18/06/2001
Posts: 2426
Loc: Roma, Italy
Yes, that's right.
Or, instead of scrolling up, the info mai fade in and out. Maybe that would look better?

Taym
_________________________
MK II BLUE/RED 12GB #923
_________________________
= Taym =
MK2a #040103216 * 100Gb *All/Colors* Radio * 3.0a11 * Hijack = taympeg

Top
#38108 - 15/09/2001 10:04 Re: Information Cycle [Re: Taym]
srhodes
enthusiast

Registered: 30/01/2000
Posts: 262
Loc: Derbyshire, UK
I like the fading in and out idea.

___________________________

Steve - 18GB Mk II Sssmokey
_________________________
Steve

2x80GB Mk II with Illuminated buttons

Top
#38109 - 15/09/2001 16:59 Re: Information Cycle [Re: srhodes]
rob
carpal tunnel

Registered: 21/05/1999
Posts: 5328
Loc: Cambridge UK
Not sure if this is what you meant, but 2.0 has a new mode called Transient Info. It offers full screen visuals until the track changes in some way (progresses to the next one, is skipped, unpaused, etc). The track details then scroll up into the bottom of the display (the visual resizes itself into the upper section of the screen), scroll horizontally if necessary, and then scroll down and out a few seconds later. If you skip within a track, just the timecode pops up.

Rob



Top
#38110 - 16/09/2001 09:14 Re: Information Cycle [Re: rob]
Taym
pooh-bah

Registered: 18/06/2001
Posts: 2426
Loc: Roma, Italy
Amazing. You're just reading my mind. Basically what I wanted is to have full visuals but also info when needed, but not always, so that visuals are not "disturbed" by info. The transient mode does exactly this. Actually, it would be nice if it was possible to set a time interval for the info to appear, so that not only when the track changes in some way, but simply every 30 seconds, or 1 min, or whatever, the info appears. However the way it is now in 2.0 is already good enough, for what I personally wanted. Do I have to say once again how much I appreciate this kind of feedback you guys give us?

Taym
_________________________
MK II BLUE/RED 12GB #923
_________________________
= Taym =
MK2a #040103216 * 100Gb *All/Colors* Radio * 3.0a11 * Hijack = taympeg

Top
#38111 - 16/09/2001 15:17 Re: Information Cycle [Re: rob]
muzza
Pooh-Bah

Registered: 21/07/1999
Posts: 1765
Loc: Brisbane, Queensland, Australi...
Are there plans to be able to set this to happen at the start, middle (or after a preset time), and end of each track?

Murray
I made a conscious descision in a semi-conscious state
_________________________
-- Murray I What part of 'no' don't you understand? Is it the 'N', or the 'Zero'?

Top
#38112 - 17/09/2001 06:50 Re: Information Cycle [Re: muzza]
rob
carpal tunnel

Registered: 21/05/1999
Posts: 5328
Loc: Cambridge UK
This is a long since completed feature and there are no plans to revisit it before 2.0.

Rob



Top
#38113 - 18/09/2001 04:51 Re: Information Cycle [Re: rob]
muzza
Pooh-Bah

Registered: 21/07/1999
Posts: 1765
Loc: Brisbane, Queensland, Australi...
yes but you didn't answer my question.
Are there [u]plans[/u] to do this?

Murray
I made a conscious descision in a semi-conscious state
_________________________
-- Murray I What part of 'no' don't you understand? Is it the 'N', or the 'Zero'?

Top
#38114 - 18/09/2001 06:09 Re: Information Cycle [Re: muzza]
msaeger
carpal tunnel

Registered: 23/09/2000
Posts: 3608
Loc: Minnetonka, MN
maybe it's a secret

32Gig MK2 In 2001 VW Golf TDI
_________________________

Matt

Top
#38115 - 18/09/2001 06:40 Re: Information Cycle [Re: muzza]
rob
carpal tunnel

Registered: 21/05/1999
Posts: 5328
Loc: Cambridge UK
No there are no plans to change the current (2.0) functionality. There are no firm plans at all for features beyond 2.0 - to be decided.


Top
#38116 - 18/09/2001 12:40 Re: Information Cycle [Re: rob]
srhodes
enthusiast

Registered: 30/01/2000
Posts: 262
Loc: Derbyshire, UK
What about my original suggestion?

___________________________

Steve - 18GB Mk II Sssmokey
_________________________
Steve

2x80GB Mk II with Illuminated buttons

Top
#38117 - 18/09/2001 13:52 Re: Information Cycle [Re: muzza]
tanstaafl.
carpal tunnel

Registered: 08/07/1999
Posts: 5409
Loc: Ajijic, Mexico
Are there [u]plans[/u] to do this?

Pssst.... Murray! There is no [u] or [/u] in the html markup capabilities in this bbs... just thought you'd like to know.

tanstaafl.

"There Ain't No Such Thing As A Free Lunch"
_________________________
"There Ain't No Such Thing As A Free Lunch"

Top
#38118 - 18/09/2001 14:10 Re: Information Cycle [Re: tanstaafl.]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31321
Loc: Seattle, WA
Pssst.... Murray! There is no [u] or [/u] in the html markup capabilities in this bbs... just thought you'd like to know.

If you replace the square brackets with angle brackets, it works as an HTML underline tag. I think. Here, let me try...

Yup, that worked.

___________
Tony Fabris
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#38119 - 18/09/2001 19:41 Re: Information Cycle [Re: tfabris]
muzza
Pooh-Bah

Registered: 21/07/1999
Posts: 1765
Loc: Brisbane, Queensland, Australi...
Pssst.... Murray!

no need to whisper.
I can see (now) that underline dont work unless in html tags. And, yes, I know about my pic not loading (thanks smu), I'm dealing with it.
Sheesh. do one thing wrong and everone jumps on you!

Murray
I made a conscious descision in a semi-conscious state
_________________________
-- Murray I What part of 'no' don't you understand? Is it the 'N', or the 'Zero'?

Top