Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#54861 - 04/01/2002 09:37 Any tips or warnings on a Jetta IV install?
ueberjeff
new poster

Loc: Tucson, AZ USA
My 10gb unit shipped yesterday and I'm eager to start the install when it gets here. The dash opening is not extremely deep and I had to do some MacGuyvering to get my Kenwood Excelon 909 to fit. Am I likely to run into any issues like this, or is it normally a pretty straight forward install. I'm no expert, but I have installed a number of regular CD head units in various cars. Thanks for any tips.

Jeff
former owner of Mk2a#040103798, 10gb Blue

#54862 - 04/01/2002 10:26 Re: Any tips or warnings on a Jetta IV install? [Re: ueberjeff]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Loc: Seattle, WA
There's a complete FAQ section on installing here. The Rio Car isn't any deeper than other aftermarket stereos (unlike some other MP3 products on the market), so it shouldn't give you any more trouble than your other stereo did.

#54863 - 04/01/2002 15:31 Re: Any tips or warnings on a Jetta IV install? [Re: ueberjeff]
mtempsch
pooh-bah

Loc: Gothenburg, Sweden
What year? There's another thread here about a '98 Jetta...
Beware of that VW isn't fully standard in the pinout of the ISO connector. My install in Polo '00/'01 is documented at http://www.tempsch.org, including how the ISO connector was wired in that car. As to depth, AFAIK VW are pretty good at making it full depth - I put a screw into the M4 hole at the back of the sled, put a rubber plug onto that and it fit perfectly with the hole at the back of the DIN slot... As long as you can move some of the wiring to the sides or up/down it shouldn't be a problem.

/Michael

#54864 - 04/01/2002 17:53 Re: Any tips or warnings on a Jetta IV install? [Re: mtempsch]
ueberjeff
new poster

Loc: Tucson, AZ USA