Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#72135 - 15/02/2002 14:17 Wiring for Volkswagen Golf with stock HU
genixia
Carpal Tunnel

Ok, this is the details of my wiring for a 2000 Golf. It should also work on Beetle and Jetta of the same era. 2002 up I believe that details are different so check.

I decided to keep my stock (non-monsoon) HU in place for now as I can't justify the expense of an external amp at the moment, and replacing it with another tape/radio or cd/radio seemed kinda pointless.

There are 2 options, build a separate harness between the car's loom and the Empeg harness, or bastardise the Empeg harness. I'll cover both. I did the second because I was having trouble finding one of the connectors, I was impatient to use my Empeg properly, I intend to keep my golf a while, and I studied electronics so I'm comfortable about working this stuff out and soldering.

In order to use the stock HU's CD input, you will need to buy a Blitzsafe 'VW Aux In' adapter. It's hard to find, but can be ordered direct from Blitzsafe for $108 including overnight shipping. (Wish it was cheaper, but it works). You will also need to visit RatShack and buy 2 male-male RCA connectors, as both the Empeg sled and the Blitzsafe adapter are female.
If you have a monsoon, you may want to use the Stock HU->Empeg->Monsoon Amp which avoids the need for this adapter, but I'd recommend searching for information from other Monsoon owners before doing this.

Option 1: Separate Loom - Recommended
Buy Metra or Scosche wiring harnesses. You need the one that plugs into the VW wiring loom that is fairly easy to find (Metra 70-1784, Scosche VW-01B) and the reverse harness that is a bitch to find that plugs into the stock HU. (Metra 71-1784, Scosche VW-01R.) Ok, in checking the Metra Number, I've just found a source for it http://www.audioonlineoutlet.com/harness.html