Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#83242 - 24/03/2002 15:42 LINUX
visuvius
addict

Windows is the only operating system i've ever used. I don't really have too many complaints about it, it does what i want it to do and looks nice. I sorta want to know more about linux, as i have no prior experience. so i have a few questions:

* How hard is it gonna be for someone new to learn?

* Do I have to completely reformat my computer and basically start from scratch (i'm running xp)

* What are the main advantages of Linux. what are some disadvantages?

* Is all hardware compatible with linux?

* I know that Linux is open source and WIDELY used. How do the programs that are available all over the net compare to mainstream stuff like Powerpoint, excel and Word.

* Can i run regular programs i download off the internet like P2P stuff and games and what not?

I also figure that knowing Linux will be a good thing for an IT major. I've only just started my IT stuff, but what the hell.

thanks, hamid

#83243 - 25/03/2002 20:08 Re: LINUX [Re: visuvius]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Loc: Raleigh, NC US
I don't think that it's too hard to learn. At the same time, Windows is also not too hard to learn, but you've been working with it for many years, so it's going to feel much harder, as not much Windows experience is going to carry over.

You may or may not have to reformat your hard drive. Generally, you install Linux on a separate partition on your hard drive, but your XP installation most likely takes up the entire drive. It might be possible to get a new hard drive and install Linux on there, avoiding your XP installation altogether, depending on a few factors. There are also one or two Linux distributions that can sit on top of a Windows installation (though I think they require a FAT filesystem), Monkey Linux being one of them, IIRC.