Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#83589 - 26/03/2002 15:30 Newbie here. Need an opinion
LaneStar
stranger

Loc: Portland Or, U.S.A.
I am trying to decide if I am going to run my MKII through my head unit or my head unit through my MKII. I did read the FAQ on this and understand that I can do both, my question is...... Is there anyone out there that is familiar with the Pioneer DEH-P900R head unit, and is its DSP and sound field imaging worth keeping over the parametric eq of the MKII? any help would be great. I really like my head unit but I am trying to decide if I am just wasting my time with it now.

#83590 - 26/03/2002 15:47 Re: Newbie here. Need an opinion [Re: LaneStar]
DisOrd3R
journeyman

Loc: Cleminton, New Jersey USA
Sorry, I do not know anything about your head unit.

But as for me, I liked having my Rio run through my head unit. I liked the fact that I could manipulate it all better. Also keeps ware and tear on the Rio down to a minimum. Because I can adjust my treble or bass on the final out from my head unit. Instead of always messing with the clumsy controls of the Rio.

#83591 - 26/03/2002 15:47 Re: Newbie here. Need an opinion [Re: LaneStar]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Loc: Seattle, WA
is its DSP and sound field imaging worth keeping over the parametric eq of the MKII?

Interesting question.

My personal feeling is that, for the most part, DSP tricks done with echo (whether they are given the fancy name of "sound field imaging" or "concert hall sound" or whatever) are a complete waste of time. All they do is muddy the sound of what used to be a perfectly good two-track stereo recording.

I don't know the details of the Pioneer DEH-P900R unit, so I don't know if its features are anything more than just echo tricks. But if that's all they are, then don't bother with them.