Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Topic Options
#85622 - 05/04/2002 07:20 Anyone know where my remote is?
DeadCow
new poster

Registered: 15/01/2002
Posts: 25
I've looked everywhere. In my desk... in the sofa cushions... in the junk drawer. I know it's somewhere. I just don't know where. I was hoping maybe one of you had seen it?

I bought the unit, and placed it aside until my install was done... with all the parts and cables. Well, the install was completed a few weeks ago, and now... well... I'll be damned if that remote just didn't up and go away.
.
.
.
.
.
.
This is just to express my ultimate frustration in tearing my house apart in the hopes of finding a credit-card size piece of electronics. If any of you have an answer, and it turns out to be there, I'll be really dissapppointed that you were in my house w/out my permission.

Tony, could you add an entry in the FAQ "Where is my remote?" With possible ideas of where to look?

Top
#85623 - 05/04/2002 07:50 Re: Anyone know where my remote is? [Re: DeadCow]
Laura
pooh-bah

Registered: 16/06/2000
Posts: 1682
Loc: Metamora, IN
It's probably related to the missing sock theory. You know, the ones that disappear between the washer and dryer.

Try looking in the fridge or dishwasher. Those are good hiding places.
_________________________
Laura

MKI #017/90

whatever

Top
#85624 - 05/04/2002 08:10 Re: Anyone know where my remote is? [Re: DeadCow]
peter
carpal tunnel

Registered: 13/07/2000
Posts: 4153
Loc: Cambridge, England
I was hoping maybe one of you had seen it?

I find a cast-iron way of finding stuff like this is to buy a new one. After you've used it for the first time, you'll go to put it away and discover your original one exactly where you were about to put the new one.

This works (at the very least) with bike pumps, sunglasses, and extension leads.

Peter

Top
#85625 - 05/04/2002 08:15 Re: Anyone know where my remote is? [Re: DeadCow]
SE_Sport_Driver
carpal tunnel

Registered: 05/01/2001
Posts: 4903
Loc: Detroit, MI USA
No offense, but it looks like you were neglecting the thing and it ran off. Those batteries aren't going to replace themselves and I'm sure that nobody needs to remind you that the batteries in the newer RioCar remotes aren't known for their longevity out of the box. That said, these things can get quite jealous, so if you do buy a new one as Peter suggested, it is likely to show up again. If that doesn't work, you may have to win its trust back. The hiding spots Laura suggested may turn up some clues.

Lets hope that it didn't run off with one of the Kenwood remotes...
_________________________
Brad B.

Top
#85626 - 05/04/2002 08:31 Re: Anyone know where my remote is? [Re: DeadCow]
Laura
pooh-bah

Registered: 16/06/2000
Posts: 1682
Loc: Metamora, IN
Also, if you have any cats around, try looking in any potted plants or litter boxes. They like to hide things there.

Dogs will go for burying things in the backyard or dropping them in the toilet.

Good luck.
_________________________
Laura

MKI #017/90

whatever

Top
#85627 - 05/04/2002 08:52 Re: Anyone know where my remote is? [Re: DeadCow]
genixia
Carpal Tunnel

Registered: 08/02/2002
Posts: 3411
Have you checked your wallet?

I wonder how many of us stuck our brand new remotes into our wallet just to confirm that it really was credit card sized..
_________________________
Mk2a 60GB Blue. Serial 030102962 sig.mp3: File Format not Valid.

Top
#85628 - 05/04/2002 12:11 Re: Anyone know where my remote is? [Re: genixia]
dodgecowboy
enthusiast

Registered: 31/01/2002
Posts: 214
Loc: Mississippi State University
I actually thought of sticking it in my wallet been then the thought ran through my head of me sitting on it and bending it in half.

not a very pretty thought
_________________________
Lucas S. Starkvegas, MS

Top
#85629 - 05/04/2002 12:23 Re: Anyone know where my remote is? [Re: peter]
pgrzelak
carpal tunnel

Registered: 15/08/2000
Posts: 4859
Loc: New Jersey, USA
No comment!!!

My latest adventure in this regard was the group's digital camera at the office. I am its keeper. It was locked in my desk. I needed to borrow it, and it was gone! I couldn't think who borrowed it, if I had already brought it home, lost it, stolen, etc.

Eventually, after two weeks of looking for it and asking people in the group, I bought a replacement. I wasn't sure I would be responsible for the lost one, but time ran out and I needed the camera for my own use anyway.

The next work day after receiving the camera and charging the battery, my boss asks me if someone else returned the camera. Apparently, he lent it out to this person (a talented photography buff who would have been the last person I would guess would want to borrow a low end digital camera), unlocking the desk in order to get at it, locked everything back up and forgot to tell me.

Well, I now have my own camera. I meant to get one, eventually...

If you replace your remote, your remote will return to you. You needed a spare anyway...
_________________________
Paul Grzelak
200GB with 48MB RAM, Illuminated Buttons and Digital Outputs

Top
#85630 - 05/04/2002 12:49 Re: Anyone know where my remote is? [Re: pgrzelak]
lectric
pooh-bah

Registered: 20/01/2002
Posts: 2082
Loc: New Orleans, LA
I bought an extra because it's cool to let the passengers have their own remote. Got 'em both attached to the center console /w magnetic tape. Works REALLY well. 'Course I still have to teach them how to use it every time they ride with me.

Top
#85631 - 05/04/2002 13:01 Re: Anyone know where my remote is? [Re: lectric]
pgrzelak
carpal tunnel

Registered: 15/08/2000
Posts: 4859
Loc: New Jersey, USA
> I still have to teach them how to use it every time they ride with me.

I solved that particular problem with having a single half page menu (laminated) of common commands. This way, they can read the quick list and figure it out for themselves. I was able to use a bit from the remote button section of the FAQ...
_________________________
Paul Grzelak
200GB with 48MB RAM, Illuminated Buttons and Digital Outputs

Top
#85632 - 05/04/2002 16:22 Re: Anyone know where my remote is? [Re: pgrzelak]
Satan_X
enthusiast

Registered: 22/03/2002
Posts: 251
Loc: Ramsey, NJ
Your remote escaped the oppresive regime you situated it in and I'm sure it's halfway to Mexico by now.

Viva La Remote!
_________________________
VW R32 Empeg 50gig 'Stormy 3 has snuck in a dodgeball' - Stormy 1

Top
#85633 - 05/04/2002 16:30 Re: Anyone know where my remote is? [Re: DeadCow]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Registered: 25/12/2000
Posts: 16706
Loc: Raleigh, NC US
I'm guessing it's behind your dash.
_________________________
Bitt Faulk

Top
#85634 - 05/04/2002 16:36 Re: Anyone know where my remote is? [Re: DeadCow]
jimhogan
carpal tunnel

Registered: 06/10/1999
Posts: 2591
Loc: Seattle, WA, U.S.A.
I've looked everywhere.

This is an easy one. The Rio-branded remote has an Easter Egg. Just hold Info-Visual-Source together for 3 seconds and it will let out a very loud beep. That should help you locate it.
_________________________
Jim


'Tis the exceptional fellow who lies awake at night thinking of his successes.

Top
#85635 - 05/04/2002 17:19 Re: Anyone know where my remote is? [Re: jimhogan]
Laura
pooh-bah

Registered: 16/06/2000
Posts: 1682
Loc: Metamora, IN
LMAO
_________________________
Laura

MKI #017/90

whatever

Top
#85636 - 05/04/2002 18:16 Re: Anyone know where my remote is? [Re: SE_Sport_Driver]
davekirk
journeyman

Registered: 02/04/2002
Posts: 56
Loc: Las Vegas
Yeah... why is it that the battery in my brand new Riocar remote was DOA? Is that typical?

Top
#85637 - 05/04/2002 19:09 Re: Anyone know where my remote is? [Re: davekirk]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Registered: 25/12/2000
Posts: 16706
Loc: Raleigh, NC US
Very typical, if this board is a good sampling of the population.
_________________________
Bitt Faulk

Top
#85638 - 05/04/2002 19:43 Re: Anyone know where my remote is? [Re: davekirk]
Satan_X
enthusiast

Registered: 22/03/2002
Posts: 251
Loc: Ramsey, NJ
AH HA! Another repressed remote fights back by refusing to work and act like its batteries are dead!

Viva La Remote!
_________________________
VW R32 Empeg 50gig 'Stormy 3 has snuck in a dodgeball' - Stormy 1

Top
#85639 - 08/04/2002 07:01 Re: Anyone know where my remote is? [Re: pgrzelak]
tms13
old hand

Registered: 30/07/2001
Posts: 1115
Loc: Lochcarron and Edinburgh
In reply to:

> I still have to teach them how to use it every time they ride with me.

I solved that particular problem with having a single half page menu (laminated) of common commands. This way, they can read the quick list and figure it out for themselves. I was able to use a bit from the remote button section of the FAQ...


Are you sharing this reference card? I've been meaning to make one, so if I can do it without having to put in any effort...
_________________________
Toby Speight
030103016 (80GB Mk2a, blue)
030102806 (0GB Mk2a, blue)

Top
#85640 - 08/04/2002 07:56 Re: Anyone know where my remote is? [Re: tms13]
pgrzelak
carpal tunnel

Registered: 15/08/2000
Posts: 4859
Loc: New Jersey, USA
Greetings!

Uh, yeah, sorry about that. I don't have it at the office. Let me take a look on the home machine, and I will post it. It was a while ago, so it might need some updating...

Update: Hmmm... This doesn't look promising. The only file on this machine is the old sticker that I had on the back of the remote. It goes through PIN settings which I set up when I got my first empeg, and are not even valid anymore. I may need to draft a new version. Stay tuned, but it does not look good...


Edited by pgrzelak (08/04/2002 08:28)
_________________________
Paul Grzelak
200GB with 48MB RAM, Illuminated Buttons and Digital Outputs

Top
#85641 - 08/04/2002 12:27 Re: Anyone know where my remote is? [Re: SE_Sport_Driver]
drakino
carpal tunnel

Registered: 08/06/1999
Posts: 7868
Loc: Seattle, WA
Lets hope that it didn't run off with one of the Kenwood remotes...

If it did, it's probably with the one I lost back when I had a Mark I. To this day I still haven't found it, and I've moved since then, and changed cars. No sign of it anywhere. Thankfully, Rob tossed one in with the Mark 1 on the way back from it's display fix.
_________________________
Tom

Top
#85642 - 08/04/2002 12:27 Re: Anyone know where my remote is? [Re: SE_Sport_Driver]
drakino
carpal tunnel

Registered: 08/06/1999
Posts: 7868
Loc: Seattle, WA
(Duplicate post deleted)

Ok, this is the fifth duplicate post I've noticed recently..., and every time it happens, the duplicate appears as new to me. Server logs might want to be looked at for a possible bug.


Edited by Drakino (08/04/2002 12:40)
_________________________
Tom

Top
#85643 - 08/04/2002 12:45 Re: Anyone know where my remote is? [Re: DeadCow]
Laura
pooh-bah

Registered: 16/06/2000
Posts: 1682
Loc: Metamora, IN
I hope you let us know it ever wanders back home.
_________________________
Laura

MKI #017/90

whatever

Top
#85644 - 08/04/2002 12:48 Re: Anyone know where my remote is? [Re: drakino]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31256
Loc: Seattle, WA
Tom, have you tried clicking on the "Logout" link at the top of the BBS and then logging back in again? If I ever notice trouble with unread marks or other similar things, doing that usually clears it all up for me.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top