Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Topic Options
#91890 - 03/05/2002 23:11 Is the riot pocketable
msaeger
carpal tunnel

Registered: 23/09/2000
Posts: 3608
Loc: Minnetonka, MN
Can anyone that has the rio riot tell me how pocketable it is.

I bought one of the new sony netMD players I like the size and the function but the uploading sucks because of the time for conversion to whatever goofy format sony uses on it.

They actually have the riot at circuit city but of course there are none on display so it's hard to tell how big it is.
_________________________

Matt

Top
#91891 - 04/05/2002 11:53 Re: Is the riot pocketable [Re: msaeger]
Alexander
member

Registered: 02/05/2000
Posts: 108
Loc: SF Bay Area
Depends on your pocket, of course.

I would say that it fits, but it's not exactly something you'd want to be walking around with all the time; kind of heavy and bulgy.

Get an iPod. It's pocketable.

Alex

Top
#91892 - 04/05/2002 12:51 Re: Is the riot pocketable [Re: Alexander]
msaeger
carpal tunnel

Registered: 23/09/2000
Posts: 3608
Loc: Minnetonka, MN
That's what I am debating I would just go with the Rio except for the size which is about the only thing I like better about the ipod

I am going to the apple store now to look at the ipod check out my actual size rio I am bringing to compare sizes(it would be nice if a store that sells these things would display one). I just wish I had a ounce scale so I could make the weight
correct :-).






Attachments
90203-DSCF0001.JPG (143 downloads)

_________________________

Matt

Top
#91893 - 04/05/2002 19:49 Re: Is the riot pocketable [Re: msaeger]
msaeger
carpal tunnel

Registered: 23/09/2000
Posts: 3608
Loc: Minnetonka, MN
Well I got the rio. I'll have to see if I can live with the size.

I also have a question about the ipod (in case I change my mind) does it use the id3 tags for it's database or the file names or something else both at compusa and the "genius bar" at the apple store couldn't give an answer that made me feel like they actually knew what they were talking about.
_________________________

Matt

Top
#91894 - 04/05/2002 21:20 Re: Is the riot pocketable [Re: msaeger]
Alexander
member

Registered: 02/05/2000
Posts: 108
Loc: SF Bay Area
Yep, the iPod uses ID3 tags, indexed by title, artist, and album. It'll fall back to filename if there is no ID3 tag in a file.

Alex

Top
#91895 - 04/05/2002 21:26 Re: Is the riot pocketable [Re: Alexander]
msaeger
carpal tunnel

Registered: 23/09/2000
Posts: 3608
Loc: Minnetonka, MN
Thanks I'm glad to hear that
_________________________

Matt

Top
#91896 - 04/05/2002 22:51 Re: Is the riot pocketable [Re: Alexander]
msaeger
carpal tunnel

Registered: 23/09/2000
Posts: 3608
Loc: Minnetonka, MN
Sorry to keep asking ipod questions but can you append with the ipod the Riot appears to be missing that feature
_________________________

Matt

Top
#91897 - 05/05/2002 04:12 Re: Is the riot pocketable [Re: msaeger]
altman
carpal tunnel

Registered: 19/05/1999
Posts: 3452
Loc: Palo Alto, CA
You don't appear to be able to append with the iPod, which I find really annoying when I want to build a playlist on the fly. The Riot can do it, but only append (no insert).

Hugo

Top
#91898 - 05/05/2002 07:32 Re: Is the riot pocketable [Re: altman]
msaeger
carpal tunnel

Registered: 23/09/2000
Posts: 3608
Loc: Minnetonka, MN
how do you do it on the rio riot I can't figure out how ? I see no mention of it in the manual.
_________________________

Matt

Top
#91899 - 05/05/2002 10:42 Re: Is the riot pocketable [Re: altman]
msaeger
carpal tunnel

Registered: 23/09/2000
Posts: 3608
Loc: Minnetonka, MN
I wish they would have used emplode instead of the real jukebox crap I think real has made the program too complicated in an effort to make an all inclusive music management program
_________________________

Matt

Top
#91900 - 05/05/2002 14:19 Re: Is the riot pocketable [Re: msaeger]
rob
carpal tunnel

Registered: 21/05/1999
Posts: 5320
Loc: Cambridge UK
I'm sure emplode has a future within SONICblue.

Rob

Top
#91901 - 05/05/2002 17:55 Re: Is the riot pocketable [Re: rob]
msaeger
carpal tunnel

Registered: 23/09/2000
Posts: 3608
Loc: Minnetonka, MN
I just need to get a rio central and to heck with the computer :-)
_________________________

Matt

Top
#91902 - 07/05/2002 14:05 Re: Is the riot pocketable [Re: altman]
msaeger
carpal tunnel

Registered: 23/09/2000
Posts: 3608
Loc: Minnetonka, MN
Ok I emailed support and they say you can't do an append with the current software.

Here's the response for why didn't they just use emplode

** Sorry, I am not able to comment on why a particular software package was used over another. However, a number of people have requested the option of using another software to access the player.
_________________________

Matt

Top
#91903 - 07/05/2002 15:49 Re: Is the riot pocketable [Re: msaeger]
altman
carpal tunnel

Registered: 19/05/1999
Posts: 3452
Loc: Palo Alto, CA
You can't do an append with the Riot? Err... you can. I'm sure I did when I was playing with one, but Mike & Toby use the 2 units in the office so they'll have to comment...

Hugo

Top
#91904 - 07/05/2002 17:41 Re: Is the riot pocketable [Re: altman]
msaeger
carpal tunnel

Registered: 23/09/2000
Posts: 3608
Loc: Minnetonka, MN
Question
1: When playing how do I do an append.

Answer
** Currently you cannot. A number of users have requested this as a possible upgrade to the software though.

maybe you guys are running a beta that has the feature added. or maybe the support guy is clueless :-). if someone wants to tell me how to do it, it would be great.
_________________________

Matt

Top
#91905 - 07/05/2002 17:52 Re: Is the riot pocketable [Re: msaeger]
msaeger
carpal tunnel

Registered: 23/09/2000
Posts: 3608
Loc: Minnetonka, MN
here's a picture



Attachments
90789-DSCF0002.JPG (137 downloads)

_________________________

Matt

Top