Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#96778 - 31/05/2002 08:50 You are in a maze of twisty little passeges, all alike.
pgrzelak
carpal tunnel

Loc: New Jersey, USA
Greetings!

I am almost ashamed to offer this...

I am NOT a programmer by anyone's view, least of all my own. But I just happen to have access to a nice big Solaris 8 testing box at the office. After building the machine, I had to put a compiler on it, and could not resist dumping the empeg toolchain onto it too...

So, in order to test it, I downloaded the source to a very basic Frotz engine (dumb-frotz, version 2.32r1 port by Alembic Petrofsky, built for standard C and dumb terminal type environments). It actually cross compiled right on the first shot!

Again, I am not a coder. I got lucky, and have not really tested it, other than starting it up with Zork. I may look into other, more powerful Frotz implementation in my infinite spare time. Also, it runs on console - I have not messed with output to the empeg display itself yet. But it is something for the extreme retrogamers out there. Enjoy!!!

Disclaimer: Any bugs you find are your own problem! I really should not be playing with this right now, but it was a good way to test the compiler on the box (at least, I can justify it to my management that way).

Attachments
95131-empeg-frotz.gz (138 downloads)

#96779 - 31/05/2002 11:51 Re: You are in a maze of twisty little passeges, all alike. [Re: pgrzelak]
tonyc
carpal tunnel

Loc: Pittsburgh, PA
Sweet! I'll have to try this out soon. If someone got one of the IR keyboards working, along with output to the display (which would be very easy with GD or the new VFDlib) passengers could play Zork on their Empeg in the car! That would be sweet.

Mark Lord, if you're reading this, weren't you hacking at some kind of IR keyboard thing at one time? Anyone else out there try it?