Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#82308 - 19/03/2002 15:28 New to Linux - JEmplode not finding players
Neutrino
addict

Loc: The Great Pacific NorthWest
I took the plunge and loaded Mandrake 8.1 this weekend. I am very new to Linux, so if my questions seem fundamental, I'm just starting. I am able to access the internet via my LAN card. I can do email, upload, and download files etc. I can access my players via HTTP but not via FTP nor will JEmplode find them. My pipe to the internet is through another computer running win2K.
The linux client box is set up as DHCP. Is this my problem? Is it unable to receive an address from a win2k box? The client box is also setup as DHCP when booted up under win2k and works fine. Both players have a ststic IP Address. I am running 2B11 and Hijack 2XX something. TIA

#82309 - 20/03/2002 12:28 Re: New to Linux - JEmplode not finding players [Re: Neutrino]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Loc: Raleigh, NC US
I don't have a whole lot to suggest, but since no one else has offered anything yet, I'll give it a shot.

First, the fact that you can access the Internet-at-large and that you can access the player via HTTP would tend to indicate that your networking (including the DHCP) is set up correctly. To doublecheck, get to a command prompt (XTerm, KTerm, GTerm, rxvt, etc.) and run ``ifconfig -a'' and make sure that you see an appropriate IP address configured on your ethernet interface.

Beyond this, I'm not sure at all what you can do. Since you can connect via HTTP, that means that you have network connectivity. Not being able to connect via FTP makes no sense. (MLord, if you're reading, do you have any ideas about this?) Is your empeg on the same network as your workstation?

#82310 - 20/03/2002 12:43 Re: New to Linux - JEmplode not finding players [Re: wfaulk]
genixia
Carpal Tunnel