Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#174419 - 09/08/2003 17:50 Bathroom Wiring
MinerTwoFour
journeyman

Loc: St. Louis, MO
After an endless search of the web, I decided to turn to the Empeg fellas.

My bathroom currently has a single switch to control a track light as well as the fan, so if the light is on, the fan is on. Not a problem, but the fan isn't the most quiet thing.

So, I took the liberty of buying a double switch, so that I could control them separately. I've had some experience with home wiring so I thought I'd give it a whirl. The only problem I have is that there is a three-conductor wire coming into the switch box, and two-conductor wires going out.

See crude attachment. Maybe I'm going braindead, but I can't figure out for the life of me how to hook up the new switches. Thought I'd turn to the endless brainpower of the forum.

I'm assuming that both the red and black are hot, but if that is the case, why is the switch bypassed by the black in the old setup. Any thoughts?

Attachments
173128-Bathroom Wiring.JPG (287 downloads)

#174420 - 09/08/2003 18:30 Re: Bathroom Wiring [Re: MinerTwoFour]
MHC
journeyman

Let it be known that this reply is coming from someone who didn't even install his own empeg. However, the way I see it, for each device to work (light and fan), they each need a black, white, and tan connection. Since right now the single switch gives that black connection, can't you just run one black connection from one switch to the light and another black connection from the other switch to the fan?

Now you can use 2 different switches to supply black, white, and tan to the devices.

Or, this could burn your house down... but I doubt it.

-Christian

#174421 - 09/08/2003 18:39 Re: Bathroom Wiring [Re: MinerTwoFour]
lectric
pooh-bah

Loc: New Orleans, LA