Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#15504 - 25/08/2000 20:35 For Idiots Like Me...
Ezekiel
pooh-bah

Loc: NH USA
Ok, I'm a failed LINUX convertee and a windows only shop. I'm not a programmer, but can build a PC from the ground up & fix every problem my family & office have thrown at me in the past five years. This being said, my question:

Is there someplace I can learn how to compile & install these different kernels (dynamic volume, custom logo etc) in a Windows environment (98x) without programming (I _SUCK_)? I want to play too, but I don't want to build a Linux box, as my last attempts (last fall) left me frustrated after 2 failed packages & nothing to do with the one I did get running, other that to say "Neat, I got this one to work."

Thanks for any help you can provide to this dub.

-Zeke

just say you weren't paying much attention...

#15505 - 25/08/2000 22:37 Re: For Idiots Like Me... [Re: Ezekiel]
alear
enthusiast

Loc: Montana, USA, Bozeman
Zeke, you just described me exactly too. Although there is a developers board, it only really states facts. It's not a how-to guide which is the problem. I have wanted something like this too.

Someone needs to set up a web page or another section of this BBS that has "articles." More than a FAQ, like a how-to. People could then write these "articles" (for rookies and experienced programmers) about different processes like compiling the kernel for the empeg. Even the most basic information can be good information for many people. In my case, I have good programming experience for windows and I have a good idea of the concept of Linux but have a hard time getting started.

By building such a wealth of information, the empeg can by developed in much more depth which would benefit everyone here. Writing these "articles" wouldn't take very long for the people that know their stuff!