Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Topic Options
#223537 - 25/08/2003 13:15 tRio 0.1.4 Web Problem
drule
stranger

Registered: 16/05/2002
Posts: 13
I'm running tRio 0.1.4 on Linux box with JReceiver 0.2.5, serving 3 Rios and working well. However I cannot get the web front end going. I'm trying to connect from another machine running IE, using this url: http://192.168.2.1:8090/trio-applet.htm where 192.168.2.1 is the address of my Linux box.

I get Applet.Trio not inited in the IE status bar and the following in the Java Console:

Java(TM) Plug-in: Version 1.4.2
Using JRE version 1.4.2 Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM
User home directory = C:\Documents and Settings\david
----------------------------------------------------
c: clear console window
f: finalize objects on finalization queue
g: garbage collect
h: display this help message
l: dump classloader list
m: print memory usage
o: trigger logging
p: reload proxy configuration
q: hide console
r: reload policy configuration
s: dump system properties
t: dump thread list
v: dump thread stack
x: clear classloader cache
0-5: set trace level to <n>
----------------------------------------------------
Stopped loading ...
Stopping applet ...
Joining applet thread ...
Destroying applet ...
Disposing applet ...
Joined applet thread ...
Quiting applet ...
Unregistered modality listener
Registered modality listener
Invoking JS method: document
Invoking JS method: URL
Referencing classloader: [email protected], refcount=1
Loading applet ...
Initializing applet ...
Starting applet ...
TRioApplet.init(): null
Parameters. trio-server: 192.168.2.1, rmi-port: 1099
Exporting Remote
Finding remote server
java.security.AccessControlException: access denied( java.net.SocketPermission 127.0.0.1:39000 connect,resolve)
at java.security.AccessControlContext.checkPermission(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.checkPermission(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.SecurityManager.checkPermission(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.SecurityManager.checkConnect(Unknown Source)
at java.net.Socket.connect(Unknown Source)
at java.net.Socket.connect(Unknown Source)
at java.net.Socket.<init>(Unknown Source)
at java.net.Socket.<init>(Unknown Source)
at sun.rmi.transport.proxy.RMIDirectSocketFactory.createSocket(Unknown Source)
at sun.rmi.transport.proxy.RMIMasterSocketFactory.createSocket(Unknown Source)
at sun.rmi.transport.tcp.TCPEndpoint.newSocket(Unknown Source)
at sun.rmi.transport.tcp.TCPChannel.createConnection(Unknown Source)
at sun.rmi.transport.tcp.TCPChannel.newConnection(Unknown Source)
at sun.rmi.server.UnicastRef.invoke(Unknown Source)
at trio.TRioServer_Stub.listApplications(Unknown Source)
at trio.applet.TRioApplet.getApplications(Unknown Source)
at trio.applet.TRioApplet.init(Unknown Source)
at sun.applet.AppletPanel.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
Exception: java.security.AccessControlException: access denied (java.net.SocketPermission 127.0.0.1:39000 connect,resolve)
Finding information ...
Releasing classloader: [email protected], refcount=0
Done ...

Any ideas?

Thanks

David

Top
#223538 - 25/08/2003 15:11 Re: tRio 0.1.4 Web Problem [Re: drule]
pauln
enthusiast

Registered: 03/12/2001
Posts: 332
Loc: UK
Hmmm, this looks as if it might be a firewall issue. Only I can't get onto the java web-site to check it out. I'll try again in the morning (UK time) and let you know.

Cheers
Paul
_________________________
Paul (the tRio guy)

Top
#223539 - 26/08/2003 06:50 Re: tRio 0.1.4 Web Problem [Re: pauln]
drule
stranger

Registered: 16/05/2002
Posts: 13
Hmmm, interesting point. My client machine is on a different subnet from my rios. The Linux server is dual-homed on both subnets and is acting as the router between the subnets using straight IP forwarding. There shouldn't be any firewalling going on but it is something for me to check. I've used both ip addresses to connect to the server and get the same Java error on both.

Thanks for the pointer. Hope you can get onto the Java website soon! :-)

Cheers

David

Top
#223540 - 26/08/2003 07:54 Re: tRio 0.1.4 Web Problem [Re: drule]
pauln
enthusiast

Registered: 03/12/2001
Posts: 332
Loc: UK
David,

When tRio starts up, you should see one or more lines starting with "binding rmi:" in the tRio console (not the java plug-in console). What do these read?

If they don't show 192.168.2.1 then try adding host-name="192.168.2.1" to the <rmi> element in trio.xml (after the create-registry="true" bit).

Cheers
Paul
_________________________
Paul (the tRio guy)

Top
#223541 - 26/08/2003 11:56 Re: tRio 0.1.4 Web Problem [Re: pauln]
mikewinter
stranger

Registered: 26/08/2003
Posts: 3
Paul and David:

Just FYI I had exactly the same problem, and adding the "host-name=" info fixed everything.

Great program!

Top
#223542 - 26/08/2003 16:47 Re: tRio 0.1.4 Web Problem [Re: mikewinter]
drule
stranger

Registered: 16/05/2002
Posts: 13
Bingo! Thanks guys.

Top
#223543 - 11/09/2003 03:17 Re: tRio 0.1.4 Web Problem [Re: pauln]
Tone
newbie

Registered: 27/07/2003
Posts: 25
Have trio 0.1.4a4, Jrec 0.2.5, on Win 2k pro box.
I'm trying to run the web front end from an old wireless Windows 95 based Fujitsu Point 510 Web tablet with IE5. Have installed Java 1.4.2 (it suggested Win 98 etc might give better results but didn't say it wouldn't work). Just getting the grey rectangle when running http://192.168.0.2:8090/trio-applet.htm
Has anyone got this running on Win 95? Is it worth me adding host-name="192.168.0.2" to trio.xml or am I wasting my time?
Regds
Tone

Top
#223544 - 11/09/2003 05:17 Re: tRio 0.1.4 Web Problem [Re: Tone]
pauln
enthusiast

Registered: 03/12/2001
Posts: 332
Loc: UK
What does it say in the java plug-in console (normally a coffee cup icon in system tray)?

Cheers
Paul
_________________________
Paul (the tRio guy)

Top
#223545 - 11/09/2003 11:45 Re: tRio 0.1.4 Web Problem [Re: pauln]
Tone
newbie

Registered: 27/07/2003
Posts: 25
Java(TM) Plug-in: Version 1.4.2_01
Using JRE version 1.4.2_01 Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM
User home directory = C:\WINDOWSProxy Configuration: No proxy----------------------------------------------------
c: clear console window
f: finalize objects on finalization queue
g: garbage collect
h: display this help message
l: dump classloader list
m: print memory usage
o: trigger logging
p: reload proxy configuration
q: hide console
r: reload policy configuration
s: dump system properties
t: dump thread list
v: dump thread stack
x: clear classloader cache
0-5: set trace level to <n>
----------------------------------------------------
java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: C:\Program Files\Java\j2re1.4.2_01\bin\net.dll: One of the library files needed to run this application cannot be found at java.lang.ClassLoader$NativeLibrary.load(Native Method) at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary0(Unknown Source) at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary(Unknown Source) at java.lang.Runtime.loadLibrary0(Unknown Source) at java.lang.System.loadLibrary(Unknown Source) at sun.security.action.LoadLibraryAction.run(Unknown Source) at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method) at java.net.InetAddress.<clinit>(Unknown Source) at java.net.SocketPermission.init(Unknown Source) at java.net.SocketPermission.<init>(Unknown Source) at java.net.HttpURLConnection.getPermission(Unknown Source) at sun.applet.AppletPanel.getAccessControlContext(Unknown Source) at sun.applet.AppletPanel.getClassLoader(Unknown Source) at sun.applet.AppletPanel.createAppletThread(Unknown Source) at sun.applet.AppletPanel.init(Unknown Source) at sun.plugin.AppletViewer.appletInit(Unknown Source) at sun.plugin.viewer.LifeCycleManager.initAppletPanel(Unknown Source) at sun.plugin.viewer.IExplorerPluginObject$Initer.run(Unknown Source)

looks like some problems here - any idea what?
Tone

Top
#223546 - 11/09/2003 15:09 Re: tRio 0.1.4 Web Problem [Re: Tone]
pauln
enthusiast

Registered: 03/12/2001
Posts: 332
Loc: UK
What do you get if you open a command prompt/dos window and type:

echo %PATH%

Cheers
Paul
_________________________
Paul (the tRio guy)

Top
#223547 - 11/09/2003 15:23 Re: tRio 0.1.4 Web Problem [Re: pauln]
Tone
newbie

Registered: 27/07/2003
Posts: 25
response to echo %PATH% is C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND

Top
#223548 - 11/09/2003 15:27 Re: tRio 0.1.4 Web Problem [Re: Tone]
Tone
newbie

Registered: 27/07/2003
Posts: 25
regarding previous post, I've assumed you're wanting the response from the Win95 table.

Top
#223549 - 11/09/2003 15:28 Re: tRio 0.1.4 Web Problem [Re: Tone]
Tone
newbie

Registered: 27/07/2003
Posts: 25
I mean tablet!!

Top
#223550 - 12/09/2003 00:42 Re: tRio 0.1.4 Web Problem [Re: Tone]
pauln
enthusiast

Registered: 03/12/2001
Posts: 332
Loc: UK
Not sure if this'll fix it, but try the java bin directory to your PATH. Not sure how you'd do this in win95, but the result you're looking for is:

C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND;C:\Program Files\Java\j2re1.4.2_01\bin

Cheers
Paul
_________________________
Paul (the tRio guy)

Top
#223551 - 12/09/2003 02:48 Re: tRio 0.1.4 Web Problem [Re: pauln]
Tone
newbie

Registered: 27/07/2003
Posts: 25
I think this is achieved by adding extra path to autoexec.bat, anyway I'll try later & report back. US/UK time zone differences and work making this slow process :-(
Tone

Top
#223552 - 12/09/2003 05:07 Re: tRio 0.1.4 Web Problem [Re: Tone]
pauln
enthusiast

Registered: 03/12/2001
Posts: 332
Loc: UK
Yup. Work, the curse of the drinking classes (to quote Oscar Wilde).
_________________________
Paul (the tRio guy)

Top
#223553 - 12/09/2003 11:45 Re: tRio 0.1.4 Web Problem [Re: pauln]
Tone
newbie

Registered: 27/07/2003
Posts: 25
the path now includes the java\bin, sadly still not working - will post java console info later.
Tone

Top
#223554 - 12/09/2003 13:53 Re: tRio 0.1.4 Web Problem [Re: Tone]
Tone
newbie

Registered: 27/07/2003
Posts: 25
Java(TM) Plug-in: Version 1.4.2_01
Using JRE version 1.4.2_01 Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM
User home directory = C:\WINDOWSProxy Configuration: No proxy----------------------------------------------------
c: clear console window
f: finalize objects on finalization queue
g: garbage collect
h: display this help message
l: dump classloader list
m: print memory usage
o: trigger logging
p: reload proxy configuration
q: hide console
r: reload policy configuration
s: dump system properties
t: dump thread list
v: dump thread stack
x: clear classloader cache
0-5: set trace level to <n>
----------------------------------------------------
java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: C:\Program Files\Java\j2re1.4.2_01\bin\net.dll: One of the library files needed to run this application cannot be found at java.lang.ClassLoader$NativeLibrary.load(Native Method) at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary0(Unknown Source) at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary(Unknown Source) at java.lang.Runtime.loadLibrary0(Unknown Source) at java.lang.System.loadLibrary(Unknown Source) at sun.security.action.LoadLibraryAction.run(Unknown Source) at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method) at java.net.InetAddress.<clinit>(Unknown Source) at java.net.SocketPermission.init(Unknown Source) at java.net.SocketPermission.<init>(Unknown Source) at java.net.HttpURLConnection.getPermission(Unknown Source) at sun.applet.AppletPanel.getAccessControlContext(Unknown Source) at sun.applet.AppletPanel.getClassLoader(Unknown Source) at sun.applet.AppletPanel.createAppletThread(Unknown Source) at sun.applet.AppletPanel.init(Unknown Source) at sun.plugin.AppletViewer.appletInit(Unknown Source) at sun.plugin.viewer.LifeCycleManager.initAppletPanel(Unknown Source) at sun.plugin.viewer.IExplorerPluginObject$Initer.run(Unknown Source)

Looks very similar to previous :-(

Tone

Top
#223555 - 12/09/2003 16:02 Re: tRio 0.1.4 Web Problem [Re: Tone]
pauln
enthusiast

Registered: 03/12/2001
Posts: 332
Loc: UK
And you've rebooted your machine (or done whatever) so that it's picking up the modified path?
_________________________
Paul (the tRio guy)

Top
#223556 - 12/09/2003 16:18 Re: tRio 0.1.4 Web Problem [Re: pauln]
Tone
newbie

Registered: 27/07/2003
Posts: 25
yes, I've rebooted. And I've checked where my Java\bin is, and path points there, just as per your previous post. When I start trio-applet.htm, it takes some time to load, but it can't seem to locate the applet (although it doesn't noticably complain), so all I get is grey rectangle.
Am at a loss. It works ok on a win98 laptop I have with no path alteration etc, Anything else I can check?
Tone

Top
#223557 - 13/09/2003 11:34 Re: tRio 0.1.4 Web Problem [Re: Tone]
pauln
enthusiast

Registered: 03/12/2001
Posts: 332
Loc: UK
Sorry, but I'm starting to suspect that we're at a dead-end here. Is it not upgradable to win98?

Cheers
Paul
_________________________
Paul (the tRio guy)

Top
#223558 - 14/09/2003 04:51 Re: tRio 0.1.4 Web Problem [Re: pauln]
Tone
newbie

Registered: 27/07/2003
Posts: 25
I probably will upgrade it. I might try on a different Win95 box first - if I do, I'll report back if it works. In meantime, thanks for all help & a great piece of software.
Tone

Top
#223559 - 18/09/2003 07:39 Re: tRio 0.1.4 Web Problem [Re: Tone]
Tone
newbie

Registered: 27/07/2003
Posts: 25
Just a quick question - can tRio 0.1.4 work with Java 1.3.0 (which runs on Win95)?
Just clutching at straws...I expect Win98 will be s..l..o..w on my somewhat resource limited tablet.
Tone

Top
#223560 - 18/09/2003 10:01 Re: tRio 0.1.4 Web Problem [Re: Tone]
pauln
enthusiast

Registered: 03/12/2001
Posts: 332
Loc: UK
Sorry, but I very much doubt it. I have it in mind to write a "lite" version of the web-front end that will run under 1.3.0, but I'm seriously short of free time at the moment.

Cheers
Paul
_________________________
Paul (the tRio guy)

Top
#223561 - 19/09/2003 02:07 Re: tRio 0.1.4 Web Problem [Re: pauln]
Tone
newbie

Registered: 27/07/2003
Posts: 25
No worries. I'll upgrade it.
Thanks for all help & your great efforts with the s/w.
Tone

Top